Attack The Prosecution's DUI Case Against You

Having a drink is not illegal. Driving a car after having a drink is not illegal. Many people do both across Central Florida. The criminal violation of DUI/DWI is about impairment. Was your ability to drive affected by alcohol or did you violate a statutory limit? This is important to remember, because there are many ways to attack a drunk driving charge — even if you blew above .08 on the Breathalyzer machine.

At Cruz & Bano, P.A., in Orlando, our attorneys know what it takes to "take apart" the prosecution's case. We know how to attack evidence like breath tests. We know how to uncover an officer's mistakes during your traffic stop. We will always work to have the charges dismissed or reduced.

If The Prosecution Proves Its Case, What Penalties Could You Face?

We, attorneys Cruz and Bano, will work tenaciously to protect your rights and attack the prosecution's case. Why? Because you face serious penalties if you are convicted.

Under Florida law, there is a single offense for DUI. The penalties depend on the number of convictions on a driver's record, blood alcohol level (BAL) and other factors.

  • First conviction: Fine of $500 to $1,000, mandatory 50 hours of community service (or a fine of $10 per hour), 10-day vehicle impoundment, incarceration of up to six months (nine months for high BAL or minor in vehicle) with potential period of probation (the combination of both not to exceed one year)
  • Second conviction: Fine of $2,000 to $4,000, up to nine months' incarceration or 12 months with .15 BAL, 30-day vehicle impoundment if first conviction was within past five years, mandatory minimum 10 days in prison if first conviction was within past five years
  • Third conviction: Fine of $2,000 to $5,000, 90-day vehicle impoundment and mandatory minimum 30-day incarceration if third conviction within 10 years, incarceration of up to 12 months if third conviction occurs 10 years after prior convictions
  • Fourth or greater conviction: Fine of at least $2,000, incarceration of up to five years and habitual/violent offender status

If you are convicted of DUI, there are noncriminal penalties to consider. These include losing your commercial driver's license and other job implications, a significant increase in insurance premiums and other consequences.

Discuss Your Arrest With A Lawyer. With Us, You Don't Have To Pay A Dime.

There is no substitute for a personal consultation on your case as even the most minor details can influence the outcome. Please call us at 407-459-1293 or email us for a detailed consultation at your earliest convenience. It is free. When you hire us to represent you, our fees are very affordable.